It would be beneficial to have a deleted work items log, or placeholder across all projects within your organization so that members of projects could review deleted items and reinstate them if they make a mistake in deleting them rather than being lost forever.
Could exist for only some time period after deleted (a week?) before being permanently removed.
I would disagree. A deletion should always be final.
The better approach of this would be to teach users not to delete things or if they can not handle the responsibility of “do not delete although I can” take away the permission to delete from certain users.
I best practice here is for example to only let admins delete complete work-items and have users only be able to delete their own comments.
What would be interesting is to have an entry in the audit logs that something was deleted and who it was.
Hi @prodeniser, thanks for the suggestion. We’re bringing in something called Trash, which is already part of our roadmap and will retain deleted Work Items for a certain period of time before permanent removal. This is expected to be live sometime in late Q3.
@cornelius Perhaps, but that seems incredibly risky for no gain. I can’t trust people to be perfect, and losing 30 minutes to hours of work for a mistake is not worthwhile to hold the line of “deleted in a database should mean deleted in a UI”.
Maybe I misunderstand permissions, but a contributor can make work items and delete them. That is risky. It’s two clicks. And can easily be done when trying to just remove a linkage from another work item. You got to remove the linkage, but if you accidentally click the target one line below and confirm, the work item is now gone forever. From a UX perspective, someone might just think, “yeah, confirm, I know I want to delete this linkage” but actually you deleted a work item with design guidance, comments and history.
If deletion is moved to an admin only I’d agree with you more. But still argue that protections are valuable when we talk about losing large chunks of time in two clicks.
Also, as people use agents more and more in their workflow, having recovery is essential.
************
@imHarsha that is great to hear! sounds like exactly what I’m looking for. Maybe purists on the word “delete” can have an option to turn that off if they want to assume greater risk on data retention!
Hi @cornelius , what you’re describing, restricting delete permissions so only Admins can delete Work Items while others can only delete their own comments, is possible through Custom Roles, available on the Enterprise Grid plan. You can build a role with exactly that permission set and assign it to the relevant members.
possible through Custom Roles, available on the Enterprise Grid plan
Yes, thank you @imHarsha I missed out on mentioning that part when I wrote my answer 